General Convention

General Convention 

General Convention is the triennial meeting of The Episcopal Church. The last General Convention took place in July 2022 in Baltimore, Maryland. The next General Convention will meet in Louisville, Kentucky, July 2024. Deputations consist of four lay and four clergy deputies and four alternate deputies in each order.  Learn more about what happens at General Convention here

Diocese of Virginia Deputation

Deputation Chair - Lillian Hardaway


Clergy Alternates

  • The Rev. Amanda Kotval, St. Paul's, Ivy
  • The Rev. Dr. Hilary B. Smith, Holy Comforter, Richmond
  • The Rev. Sven L. vanBaars, Abingdon, White Marsh
  • The Rev. Daniel Veléz-Rivera, St. Gabriel's/San Gabriel, Leesburg
  1. The Rev. Will Dickinson, St. George's, Fredericksburg
  2. The Rev. Kathleen Murray, Emmanuel, Woodstock, and St. Andrew's, Mount Jackson
  3. The Rev. Andrew Moore, St. John's, McLean
  4. The Rev. Herbert Jones, St. Thomas', Richmond




Lay Alternate

  • Mr. Matt Danielson, St. Thomas', Richmond
  • Ms. Lillian Hardaway, St. Paul's, Alexandria
  • Ms. Margaret (Mickie) Jones, St. Mark's, Richmond
  • Mr. Russell Randle, Christ Church, Alexandria
  1. Ms. Cindi Bartol, Christ Church, Alexandria


Deputies can be contacted by email at  The deputies welcome your comments.

Activity at General Convention may be followed on the Episcopal News Service.  A wealth of information about convention is available at


Click here to view Postcards from Baltimore: Virginia Deputies Report from General Convention July 2022.